top of page

Professor Jenny Stewart: Bridging Communication with ASL

A Life Dedicated to Deaf Studies

My journey into the world of Deaf Studies has been a lifelong one, shaped by a deep love for American Sign Language (ASL) and a profound connection to the Deaf community. I currently serve as the program coordinator and lead instructor of the Deaf Studies program at an esteemed institution of higher learning. In this role, I've had the privilege of contributing to the development of course curricula, particularly for the Certificate of Deaf Studies.

My educational path led me to obtain an Associates of Applied Science in ASL Interpretation for the Deaf and a Deaf Studies Certificate. Over time, I continued to nurture my passion for ASL by earning a bachelor's degree in ASL Interpretation for the Deaf, followed by a master's degree in Special Education and a Teaching Certificate for Deaf and Hard of Hearing students.



Years of Experience and Impact

With over fifteen years of professional experience, I've had the honor of working with both Deaf and hearing individuals across a variety of settings. These experiences include special education, secondary level education, higher education ASL instruction, and even local and international ASL interpreting. Each interaction has reinforced the power of ASL as a tool for communication and connection.



A Proud CODA

I am a proud Child of a Deaf Adult, often referred to as a CODA. My journey into ASL started in infancy, as my father, the late Dr. David Stewart, who was Deaf, taught me and my siblings baby sign language. Signing became a natural part of our everyday life. My father was an esteemed figure within the Deaf community, a professor of Deaf education, American Sign Language, and interpreting, and a tireless advocate for Deaf and hard of hearing children.

He was not only a leader in the research and promotion of Deaf sports but also an author of numerous books and a prolific researcher. Despite his extraordinary contributions to the community, he always prioritized his family. To me, his hearing child, signing with him was more then just communication; it was a unique bond that connected us on a deeper level.



Passing Down the Gift of ASL

Sign language is a precious gift my father bestowed upon me, one that I now share with my own children. My hope, as your instructor, is to help you discover the beauty of this language and equip you to pass it on to future generations. Just as ASL has enriched my life and my family's, I'm excited to embark on this journey with all of you as we explore the world of Deaf Studies and the boundless possibilities of American Sign Language. Together, we'll bridge generations and foster a deeper understanding of the Deaf community and their vibrant culture.


Check out Professor Jenny at Signing Courses to see how she can help you bridge the communication gap with ASL.





0 comments
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
We use cookies on our website to see how you interact with it. By browsing our site, you agree to our use of such cookies.
If you do not accept, please leave our website now.
bottom of page